Please edit your petitions

M. Bear (unverified)

25 Mar, 2020 08:19 PM

I am a pro activist and I don’t mind signing petitions that are going to benefit people in this country. But your petitions irritate me,
Because I don’t want to have to take the time to fill in Mr. Mrs. miss, I don’t want to scroll through your list of choices of subjects they should already be filled in they should already be there. I get over 300 emails a day I don’t have time to sit there and scroll through the list of choices that you have. And I admit sometimes I blow off your your petitions just because of that reason alone.
And sometimes the choice isn’t even available I have to pick other so please amend your petitions.
Otherwise I’m going to opt out.

Kind regards,
M. Bear

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Daily Kos Staff on 25 Mar, 2020 09:53 PM

Hello, and thanks for reaching out to us with your concern about petitions.

You have probably noticed that we have a few different formats of petitions. Many if not most of them simply require you to sign on. A smaller portion of them have blanks to fill/options to choose.

The petitions in this latter group are connected directly to the inboxes of elected officials. Accordingly, we simply do not have any control whatsoever regarding the fields they offer, the choices they provide, or anything else about the formatting. If we did, there are many elements we'd organize differently. It is true, as you note, that the subject categories often leave a lot to be desired.

If you'd rather not take the time to fuss with these field choices, then there is another option you might consider. The ultimate goal with these campaigns is to put people in touch with their elected representatives about a pressing issue. We provide sample text for the communication, but we also encourage folks to edit and adapt that language to make it more personal.