Message notification issue

Otteray Scribe

17 Oct, 2019 04:59 PM

Wondering for some time why notifications from groups do not show up as new messages. I am an Administrator for several groups, and get requests and notices. Because I don't always check messages when there is no notice of new messages, some requests have gone unanswered for days, and in a few instances, weeks. That is a problem. I am trying to be more conscientious about checking messages daily, but that does not solve the problem for others. For example, not everyone checks messages if the message header says, "No New Messages," thus missing time-sensitive notifications.

Not sure why the system is set up this way, but I would like to see it fixed so all new messages are announced as some form of "you have mail."

Thanks for taking the time to look at this.

1. 1 Posted by Eyesbright on 17 Oct, 2019 10:03 PM

I'll second that motion!
    There are numerous issues with the group system - but that one seems like an easy fix that would be of greater benefit than non-group-admins can imagine. It seems like such a no brainer! Ideally, the "new message notification" would only go to the Group's Admins (group Editors are simply not needed on these administrative issues).

2. Support Staff 2 Posted by Daily Kos Staff on 18 Oct, 2019 01:55 AM

Hello, and thanks for mentioning this little feature.

It's a good time to bring it up because of a number of upgrades we're doing. I don't know whether we can extend the changes to do anything different from what Kosmail already does, but I can ask. I do think, however, that there is a valid concern about people getting overwhelmed with alerts if the group were large. Some are so large that even limiting the alerts to admins would potentially mean a lot of people.

But we'll see.

I'll let you know if it looks like there may be some changes implemented.

Thanks for your long time support of the site.