New tag searching looks nice but is counterproductive for serious searching. Is there a way to reach the original design?

mettle fatigue

05 Mar, 2020 11:36 PM

As a general research librarian by profession ---with an MS in information science, half a PhD in collection mgmt, & roughly 30 yrs working in databases beginning 1970--- I value efficiency and effectivity highly, and I use dk's search engine a great deal for finding a wide range of information supporting the local and special-interest groups I'm in, and for related purposes about which I'm often asked questions and asked for help.

I appreciate that the site may have additional goals to reach where searching is concerned.

Please provide a route to using the site's search engine so that it displays results in the old format, since this isn't something google can be relied upon in the least to remedy.

Please also supply instructions for how to start following a tag, since the Heart/Follow appears to have been removed from the top of tag pages.

Thanks,

--m

1. 1 Posted by siab on 06 Mar, 2020 07:42 AM

The search engine works as it always has, and displays the tag search results as before, but they've modified the process.

To add a tag to your list to Follow, go to your Profile, Following, Tags.

You will see a heart above the NOTE/REMOVE columns, followed by ADD TAGS. Click on that and a box opens up that lets you add whatever single or multiple tags you wish.to run a Search on. The Search returns results on the same page, in order under the box, and you can then check the boxes for those tags you wish to add to your list.

It's kind of neat, actually.

2. 2 Posted by mettle fatigue on 06 Mar, 2020 12:01 PM

"displays the tag search results as before" --um, NO.